Frequently Asked Questions

We hope that we have answered most of the common questions that arise below. Please take a look to see if we already answered your question. If you have a question that has not been addressed here, feel free to contact us so we can get you a quick reply.

About Our Programs

I've never practiced mindfulness before. Is this for me?

Absolutely! The courses we offer are designed for people who are either relatively new to mindfulness or have had no prior experience with it at all. As an instructor, I make a commitment to bring what we call a “beginner’s mind” to my courses. That means that I commit to remembering what it was like to learn all of these concepts and techniques for the first time. If you are completely new to mindfulness, it is best to start with the Introduction To Mindfulness course as it will set the stage for all of the other courses we offer.

Do I need to have prior meditation experience?

Not at all. We’ll help you get a meditation practice started by teaching you the foundations of how to practice meditation. The Introduction to Mindfulness course is strongly recommended for those with no prior experience before moving on to the other courses, but I bring the foundations into each and every course.

What do you mean by the word "practice"?

You can think of it as a way to practice teachings and techniques. Each time we meditate, we have an opportunity to learn something new or reinforce prior learning. Mindfulness meditation grows stronger and more revealing the more time we spend practicing what we are learning. A “practice” is just something we do. Doctors have a medical practice, lawyers have a law practice, and meditators have a meditation practice. It’s how we continue to grow and learn that which we commit ourselves to.

What do you mean by self-guided learning courses?

All of our courses are offered in one of two forms. We pre-record all courses and create a six-week, self-guided, learning opportunity to explore the course concepts. It is suggested in each course how to pace the course material over a six-week period which gives you a way to integrate what is being taught in your own life. Each course comes with recorded audio guided meditations, video Q&A sessions as well as talks from the instructor to complement some suggested readings and home practice assignnments. There is, however, no homework to complete and turn in.

What do you mean by a "mentored cohort"?

When you sign up for a Mentored Cohort course, you are joining a small group of students to be led in live sessions with the course teacher. These mentored courses are offered both in-person as well as online over Zoom. Students of these groups get access to the pre-recorded course in addition to the live sessions. Even better, we record all of the live online sessions and make those available in the course dashboard as well. This way, you can get maximum benefit from the course offerings.

Do you offer one-on-one practice support?

Yes! But I only offer this on a very limited basis, so feel free to reach out to see if what I offer can meet your needs.

Do I need to start with the Introduction course first?

It’s really up to you! But if you don’t have much experience with mindfulness meditation, it is a very good idea. The introduction course lays down a foundation for a mindfulness practice that we build upon in our other courses. If you are already familiar with the terms and techniques, feel free to sign up for one of the other courses we offer at any time. If you find that you are feeling lost in the other courses, you can always sign up for the self-paced Introduction To Mindfulness course and bring your vocabulary and understanding up to speed.

Does the All-Access Pass include the mentored cohorts?

The All-Access Pass includes all of the pre-recorded courses which are offered as self-guided learning opportunities. The mentored cohorts are an opportunity to deepen your practice with teacher and community guidance and can be purchased separately.

Technical & Account Support

How do I log into my course?

Simply click on the Login link at the top of the page using the credentials you created when you paid for the course. At that point, you should be brought to the course catalog. Locate the course you signed up for and click the “Start My Course” button near the top of the page. The course contents are unlocked when you are logged into your account. Be sure to log out when you are done to protect your personal information.

Help, I lost my password!

No problem. Click this link and enter the email address you used when you created your account in order to reset your password.

How do I access the courses?

Login to your account, click on the courses link in the top navigation bar, click the button to view the details for your course and you will see the Start The Course button at the top of the page. This will take logged-in users right to their course.

Why are these courses set as subscription plans?

When you sign up for a course, mentored cohort, or All-Access Pass, you get access to your materials for one full year from the day you signed up. If that is enough time for you, you can cancel your subscription at any time and it will remain accessible until the year is up. If you wish to continue to access the materials from your course, you can simply let the course renew and you will receive access for an additional year. You can manage your subscriptions from the My Account page when logged in.

Can I cancel my subscription at any time?

Absolutely! And you will retain access to the course until the year is up. No questions asked!

Can I get help using Zoom?

If you are new to Zoom or having difficulty getting it set up, please visit their help center here.

How do I get the Zoom link for Mentored cohorts?

The link for each weekly course session will be listed on your course landing page. We will also send the link to the meeting to you at least one week prior to the start of the course.

Who can see the recording from the mentored cohorts?

Only the teacher and the students in that cohort. When you log in to your account from our navigation menu, the website unlocks the hidden page only to you as one of the members of that class. Be sure to log out when you are done or anyone else who uses the computer you access the course with will be able to view your account information as well as the contents of your courses – including your cohort videos.